Driving on a Suspended License in Colorado Springs, CO
Have you been charged with driving on a suspended license?
If you have been arrested for driving with a suspended license you are facing serious penalties. You will most likely be charged with driving under restraint (DUR) or driving under suspensions (DUS). Driving under restraint encompasses driving if you have been denied a Colorado driver's license, or driving with a revoked or suspended license. A conviction for either DUR or DUS will result in mandatory jail time, fines and the loss of your driving privileges for an entire year.
Contact a Colorado Springs DUI attorney to get immediate help with your case. The laws pertaining to driving on a suspended license can be confusing. A qualified lawyer will be able to answer all of your questions and make sure you understand the charges against you.
Colorado Springs Driving on a Suspended License Lawyer
These types of charges can create serious legal problems, particularly if the suspension was because of a DUI conviction. The consequences for driving on a suspended license due to DUI include:
- Up to one year in jail
- Fines of up to $1,000
If you have been convicted of this same crime within the past 5 years, the penalties increase to:
- Imprisonment for up to 2 years
- A maximum of $3,000 in fines
- Driver's license suspension for 4 years.
There are many possible defenses to the charge of driving on a suspended license. We will review your situation in detail to determine the best course of action for your particular case. For most people, any loss of driving privileges can be a hardship. We know how important it is to maintain your mobility and will fight to protect your driving rights.
Contact a Colorado Springs DUI lawyer
from our law office to get qualified legal advice if you have been arrested for driving on a suspended license.